Source: Library

Mini Review – Geekerella by Ashley Poston

September 24, 2017 | Book Review by Tia Jenkins
Mini Review – Geekerella by Ashley Poston

I reeaally wanted to love this one. While I enjoyed Geekerella, I didn’t love it as much as I expected to. I think it may have been too predictable. Though I expected that going in, so I really don’t know what happened. I think I had too high of expectations for this to be spectacular, but it was pretty much like every other contemporary I’ve […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee

August 6, 2017 | Book Review by Tia Jenkins
Review – Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee

When I first started reading Tash Hearts Tolstoy, I really wasn’t sure how I felt about the characters. The story was great, and I loved how it showed the negative side to vlogging (and social media in general). The only problem I really had with it was that I couldn’t decide how I felt about a lot of the characters, but I guess that’s life […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

July 16, 2017 | Book Review by Tia Jenkins
Review – Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Guys!! This book was everything I needed! I admit that there were things that weren’t perfect, but I loved this book with a passion! The representation was amazing! I related to both Charlie and Taylor on so many levels. Let’s start with Taylor….Taylor has an Autism Spectrum Disorder and suffers from extreme anxiety. Now, I may not be on the spectrum, but I do suffer from anxiety […]

Turn the Page...

Review – The Ones by Daniel Sweren-Becker

July 10, 2017 | Book Review by Austine
Review – The Ones by Daniel Sweren-Becker

Okay, see, I generally avoid YA dystopian anymore and this book didn’t change my mind about the genre. We’re in the future, though not too far this time around, where some people are extra special with great genes and all that. Not everyone is like this and those that are have been named the Ones. I could get behind all this because the idea of […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Menagerie by Rachel Vincent

May 13, 2017 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Menagerie by Rachel Vincent

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect going into this book but I can say that I definitely liked it! First of all, it involved a carnival which is an immediate must-read for me. Add to that the elements of mythology woven throughout the world and I’m sold. It was an…. interesting experience reading it, though, because a lot of the book completely disgusted me […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

April 27, 2017 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

Goodness, I had high hopes for this book, especially upon hearing that it was perfect for fans of Outlander, which I loved. What I found was a lot of potential but nothing memorable. So some similarities. It’s hard to not compare this book to Outlander if you’ve either read the book and/or watch the show because Into the Dim is about a girl who travels back in time to Scotland. And there’s […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Heir to the Sky by Amanda Sun

March 8, 2017 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Heir to the Sky by Amanda Sun

I should have known better. I knew, when I picked up Heir to the Sky, that it was a YA dystopian (well, it says fantasy but it read more like a dystopian to be honest) and as much as I want to love the genre it’s always hit or miss. And this book was definitely a miss. We have some floating islands above the earth and the […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

January 23, 2017 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

Sometimes a book leaves a lasting impression and sometimes… it’s just there on the shelf. Poison Study fell into the latter group for me. I read a lot of YA fantasy so when a book isn’t a standout, it gets lost in the shuffle and unfortunately, despite all the raving reviews, this one just wasn’t anything extraordinary. Yelena is given the choice: death by hanging or be […]

Turn the Page...

Mini Review – Stone Cold Touch by Jennifer L. Armentrout

January 30, 2015 | Book Review by Tia Jenkins
Mini Review – Stone Cold Touch by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Absolutely magnificent! The sexual tension! The freaking amazing badassery! The fights! The mystery! The CLIFFHANGER! Goddamn this book was just fantastic. Even better than WHK. And now I can’t wait to read the final book! I need it.. now… There were so many twists and turns, it kept me turning the page. JLA put out all the stops for this one. There was so much […]

Turn the Page...