Source: Library

Review – Menagerie by Rachel Vincent

May 13, 2017 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Menagerie by Rachel Vincent

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect going into this book but I can say that I definitely liked it! First of all, it involved a carnival which is an immediate must-read for me. Add to that the elements of mythology woven throughout the world and I’m sold. It was an…. interesting experience reading it, though, because a lot of the book completely disgusted me […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

April 27, 2017 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

Goodness, I had high hopes for this book, especially upon hearing that it was perfect for fans of Outlander, which I loved. What I found was a lot of potential but nothing memorable. So some similarities. It’s hard to not compare this book to Outlander if you’ve either read the book and/or watch the show because Into the Dim is about a girl who travels back in time to Scotland. And there’s […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Heir to the Sky by Amanda Sun

March 8, 2017 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Heir to the Sky by Amanda Sun

I should have known better. I knew, when I picked up Heir to the Sky, that it was a YA dystopian (well, it says fantasy but it read more like a dystopian to be honest) and as much as I want to love the genre it’s always hit or miss. And this book was definitely a miss. We have some floating islands above the earth and the […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

January 23, 2017 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

Sometimes a book leaves a lasting impression and sometimes… it’s just there on the shelf. Poison Study fell into the latter group for me. I read a lot of YA fantasy so when a book it’s a standout, it gets lost in the shuffle and unfortunately, despite all the raving reviews, this one just wasn’t anything extraordinary. Yelena is given the choice: death by hanging or be […]

Turn the Page...

Mini Review – Stone Cold Touch by Jennifer L. Armentrout

January 30, 2015 | Book Review by Tia Jenkins
Mini Review – Stone Cold Touch by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Absolutely magnificent! The sexual tension! The freaking amazing badassery! The fights! The mystery! The CLIFFHANGER! Goddamn this book was just fantastic. Even better than WHK. And now I can’t wait to read the final book! I need it.. now… There were so many twists and turns, it kept me turning the page. JLA put out all the stops for this one. There was so much […]

Turn the Page...

Mini Review – Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

October 26, 2014 | Book Review by Tia Jenkins
Mini Review – Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

Last year around this time, I had started this book but I never ended up finishing it because it was due at the library and the amount of times I could renew it was depleted. Even though I had read the beginning of it before, I still forgot pretty much everything that happened because it had been so long. I’m glad I decided to pick […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

September 12, 2014 | Book Review by Tia Jenkins
Review – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

I had to read this book for school, and normally when you get assigned a book to read in class, it sucks epically. But that can’t be said for Jane Eyre. I actually enjoyed this book a lot. It was different from the other classics we’ve had to read before. Bronte’s writing is easy to follow and doesn’t have the unnecessarily posh writing that most […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Crewel by Gennifer Albin

June 11, 2014 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Crewel by Gennifer Albin

I’m not sure what I really expected from this book. It was an impulse read: I saw it on the shelf in the library, thought it sounded interesting, and decided to check it out. I’ve been hesitant about my choices of YA dystopian reads, having slowly lost my faith in the genre over the last year or so. While Crewel didn’t quite disappoint like Matched […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

July 23, 2013 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

When I heard about Seraphina, I knew I had to read it. Fantasy? Definitely a must. Dragons? Why don’t I own this yet…? Original? Sign me up! While I didn’t buy it thanks to the lovely library, I did finally read it and was a tad disappointed. Seraphina fits the bill for all things epic fantasy, and it’s even original which is hard to come […]

Turn the Page...