Category: Book Review

Review – Hunter and Fox by Philippa Ballantine

July 12, 2012 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Hunter and Fox by Philippa Ballantine

Hunter and Fox had exactly what I’ve come to expect from Ballantine: a beautifully created world, diverse and unique characters, and a want for more. After reading two of the authors Books of the Order series last year (Geist and Spectyr) I couldn’t wait to get my hands on another. For those who have read Philippa Ballantine’s previous work, Hunter and Fox is set in […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Switched by Amanda Hocking

July 10, 2012 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Switched by Amanda Hocking

I read the reviews for this book before purchasing it. I’d only seen a couple that ravedabout this book so I assumed it must be great. Then I came across those 2-3 star reviews. Now there’s me. My opinion is somewhere in the middle. Switched is an interesting take on trolls, which you don’t see very often in YA from what I’ve seen. It adds […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Spear of Seth by Rene Daniel

July 6, 2012 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Spear of Seth by Rene Daniel

Spear of Seth is an action-packed adventure perfect for fans of Indiana Jones. Not only does this book have plenty to keep you reading, the depth of the mythology Daniel uses is…amazing. I am a HUGE fan of mythology-based books and this one is no exception. Throughout the story, you not only goes on a journey with protagonists Alex and Heather but also gain new […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Orb by Gary Tarulli

July 4, 2012 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Orb by Gary Tarulli

This book was far from what I expected. Orb is a science fiction novel but lacks the aliens and outerwordly aspects common in the genre. Instead, the novel focuses on the Desio’s crew members, a psychological examination of their interactions, in a sense. While this was very well written and I enjoyed the book regardless, I’m the kind of girl who likes worlds with all […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Crashing Eden by Michael Sussman

June 25, 2012 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Crashing Eden by Michael Sussman

I received Crashing Eden from the author for review and overall, I found the book to be a quick but thought-provoking read. For starters, the book has a basis in the story of Adam and Eve. While anything remotely related to religion is usually on my avoid list for reviews simply because of differing reader opinions, Sussman gives enough of a twist that puts a […]

Turn the Page...

Review – The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke

June 21, 2012 | Book Review by Austine
Review – The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke

Yo ho, yo ho, a pirate’s life for me. I received an ARC of this book thanks to NetGalley/Angry Robot & Strange Chemistry and I’m glad I accepted. The Assassin’s Curse was definitely a swashbuckling adventure filled with magic and pirates. Clarke transports you to a whole new world where pirates are actually organized (that’s right, Pirates of the Caribbean fans, organized) and make alliances […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Rogue’s Pawn by Jeffe Kennedy

June 20, 2012 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Rogue’s Pawn by Jeffe Kennedy

I received an ARC of Rogue’s Pawn through NetGalley and Carina Press. The novel is a fantasy delving deep into the world of The People. Not only did the writing keep me hooked from beginning to end, the story itself was captivating and exactly what I look for in an edgy book of faeries, magic, and a kick-a** heroine. The world was a character in […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Prossia by Raphyel M. Jordan

June 17, 2012 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Prossia by Raphyel M. Jordan

Prossia is the first science fiction novel I’ve read not centered around humans. I was hesitant when accepting to review it as I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to relate to the characters. Instead, I was pleasantly surprised at how developed and relatable the characters really were. Aly is a Goolian any reader can follow, a Young One with problems of both a basic […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Clockwork Spells and Magical Bells edited by Herika R. Raymer

June 14, 2012 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Clockwork Spells and Magical Bells edited by Herika R. Raymer

Clockwork Spells and Magical Bells is a collection of short stories based on “magic vs. machine” with an emphasis on fantastical creatures (in this case, elves and dwarves). While there were certainly stories I enjoyed more than others, I found that as a whole the book provided a diverse look into the steampunk world. With a rise in books in this genre, I’ve gained an […]

Turn the Page...

Review – Tiger’s Voyage by Colleen Houck

June 13, 2012 | Book Review by Austine
Review – Tiger’s Voyage by Colleen Houck

Alright, so I first have to say I love dragons, and guess what’s on the cover? That in itself attracted me to Tiger’s Voyage other than the fact that I absolutely loved the first two books. While I did indeed enjoy the third installment of the Tiger Saga, I don’t think it was as good as the first two. After the introduction of Ren’s brother […]

Turn the Page...