Review – By Your Side by Kasie West

POSTED ON January 15, 2017 BY Tia Jenkins IN Book Review

Review – By Your Side by Kasie West

By Your Side

by Kasie West
Published on January 31, 2017 by HarperTeen
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher (via Edelweiss)
Rating:
Book Depository / Amazon / Barnes & Noble
GOODREADS

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?


This book was provided by the Publisher (via Edelweiss) for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I don’t know why, but Kasie West’s books always make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. I never used to really like contemporary novels, but they have recently become a great way to relax. They’re extremely predictable, and a lot of them don’t include the diversity this community has been asking for, but even though I know they’re problematic, I still turn to them time and time again for that quick, easy, and fun read. A lot of the time they get me out of book slumps I’m prone to falling into when I work too much and think I don’t have enough time to read something substantial.

By Your Side wasn’t my favorite book by Kasie West, but it was still ridiculously cute. Autumn gets locked in a library one night while going to the bathroom. Who knows how it happened since you would think someone would have seen her coming in on their way out, or would have at least checked the bathrooms to make sure no one was still in the library before locking the doors, but alas, they didn’t or else we wouldn’t have a story. While waiting for her friends to return (that’s another thing that’s annoying. She told multiple people she was going to the bathroom, yet no one realized she was missing), she realizes she is not alone and comes face to face with the resident bad boy, Dax.

After they both realize no one is coming to get them for the entire weekend, they reluctantly form an alliance. As you can imagine, the brooding bad boy wanted nothing to do with the popular good girl. So the first few chapters were them ignoring each other and Autumn exploring the library. Soon, as the days dragged on, they started to form a connection. It was really cute watching it grow. You already knew that they would get together in the end, but the road there was still unclear.

I honestly loved Dax’s character…Sure he was typical broody mcbrooderson, but I liked his story. Of course he would be closed off to people, he had grown up with a druggie mom who chose meth over him and spent the rest of his years in foster homes, always moving, never forming any substantial connections with anyone. But the depth to him when he realized that Autumn was it. She was the one he had been searching for…It was beautiful. I also liked Jeff…even though he’s an idiot who didn’t remember Autumn saying she was going inside to go to the bathroom real quick, he was a really good guy. Despite the fact that Autumn didn’t like him the way he liked her, he still remained her friend and told her to go after Dax if that’s really who she wanted. Not a lot of guys would have been that cool about it.

In conclusion, I love contemporary novels and even though this wasn’t Kasie West’s best book, I still really enjoyed it. I mean I read it in a day! Would I recommend it? Yes, I think I would. It’s perfect for those days where you want to read something, but you don’t want to read something that will make you think too hard.


Your to-read pile looks lonely.
Sign up for weekly book recommendations so you never have to wonder what to read next.

Leave a Reply