Review – Timekeeper by Tara Sim

POSTED ON November 20, 2016 BY Tia Jenkins IN Book Review

Review – Timekeeper by Tara Sim

Timekeeper

by Tara Sim
Series: Timekeeper #1
Published on November 8, 2016 by Sky Pony Press
Genres: Fantasy, Science Fiction, Steampunk, Young Adult
Pages: 424
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher (via NetGalley)
Rating:
Book Depository / Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Two o’clock was missing.

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.


This book was provided by the Publisher (via NetGalley) for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Timekeeper by Tara Sim is the first steampunk novel I have read, and I have to say…I’m pretty impressed. It was an LGBTQ+ fantasy novel with mythology roots woven in. Definitely my kind of book. The fact that it took me so long to finish sucks because some things were read really late at night when I couldn’t sleep. It was the only time I had to read, and it resulted in me feeling very detached from the characters and the story. At least in the beginning. The second half, however, I managed to read all at once and I put more details together and ended up loving it.

Timekeeper follows our main protagonist, Danny Hart, a mechanic that maintains time. Danny is actually the youngest mechanic in history. This caused a lot of hostility from other mechanics. The novel actually starts out after an accident that Danny was in. This is where we learn a little about how the clocktowers work and what happens when they break. When a clock tower breaks completely, the town then stops. The people who are in it, becoming trapped. We also learn that, in one of the stopped towns, Danny’s father is trapped. This sets the scene for the entire book. We know from the beginning that all Danny wants is to be placed on the Maldon project to build a new clocktower (which hasn’t been done in hundreds of years) in order to try and unstop the town.

Then there is Enfield. Enfield is the town that Danny is given his first assignment for after his accident. This is where he meets an apprentice who he is instantly attracted to. The relationship he forms with this apprentice…who he later finds out is actually a clock spirit named Colton…is kind of weird. I mean I guess I understand why it’s weird…Colton isn’t exactly human…but it is definitely a very slow burn romance. While their romance is very back burner when regarding the rest of the plot, I felt that it weighed a lot on Danny’s mind and that was a little annoying. He was SO obsessed SO quickly. I don’t know if that was supposed to be a clock spirit thing because of their connection with mechanics…but I’m not sure if I liked it. Especially since it led the bad guy of the story to everything he did. Just because he loved a clock spirit.

Other than that though, I’m not sure if I really had that many problems with this book. I especially loved the mythology bits. Basically, Chronos (the titan who controls time) created these other gods to control different domains of earth for him. The little snipits we get follow Aetas, the god Chronos created to help him manage time. We learn how humans came to get the power to manipulate time for themselves and we also see the death of Aetas. Tara Sim spins a world that is imaginative and very well written. I absolutely recommend this title and hope that you enjoy it if you do end up reading it ^_^


Your to-read pile looks lonely.
Sign up for weekly book recommendations so you never have to wonder what to read next.

Leave a Reply